DipTrans and MITI exams: side by side

An interesting view that can be very helpful in choosing the right exam, if a choice has to be made. Trying to make up my mind now!

Signs & Symptoms of Translation

DipTrans and MITI examsIn January this year I took the Diploma in Translation (DipTrans) set by the Chartered Institute of Linguists and the MITI exam to become a qualified member of the Institute of Translating & Interpreting. This post is an account of my experience of the two exams.

Why did I take these exams?

My path into translation came from a career switch from nursing. I completed a one-year course on translation in Madrid when I made the change, but I didn’t have a formal translation qualification as such. This hasn’t been a problem when marketing my services; most new clients are more interested in my medical background and years of experience. But I felt ready for a new challenge and so in 2012 I decided to make the DipTrans my goal. At the same time, I’d been looking at becoming a member of the ITI for some time because qualified…

View original post 994 more words

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

