More on moral choices and foreign languages

Dear readers and followers,

I am still in the Limbo of my new flat without internet connection, and I have not been able to publish my lessons for two weeks now, but I seriously hope to be able very soon. Meanwhile, I am going back to a subject that has been introduced some time ago by this post.
Why going back to it now? It may be because lately I have been interested by several phylosophical questions of different importance, or because I see a pattern forming in my behaviour, but I was dragged back to this discussion that originated from some researches by the universities of Chicago and Barcelona. 

When the first post was published, I did not give too much importance to some side aspects of the matter, even if I closed that article with a question that was already introducing this debate. Back then, I was forced to face discussions in English because the person I was confronting myself with could not speak any other language. The fact is that I keep doing the same now that the situation is different.

The reflexion actually started during a wonderful walk in the park with my beloved MPR: Do I default to English when I get annoyed on IM because that is what I am most used to do, or because I want to raise a protective wall of unfamiliar, less hurtful foreign language to avoid being seriously concerned by the subject?

I think both options may be true, but there is more to it. To be clear, I am not talking about lovers’ quarrells, because I have no significant one, or insignificant one, for that matter; I am analysing here any kind of confrontations that, in some ways, affect my mood and my nerves. 

With no doubt, there is an intent to avoid excessive involvement in the matter, which pushes me to switch languages and feel less attached. MPR agrees with me: she says that she never thought about that, but now she realises she often does the same. Moreover, she says she can only watch horror movies in English, as if they were less scary. Who knows me, also knows that horror movie is a very blur category for me, due to the fact that I am easily scared; well, since I watch them in English, I have been able to watch series that before would have been terrifying for me, therefore I agree completely with Mercedes, the language in which the pieces of art we enjoy are created also helps us empathize more or less with them.

Recently, I have been thinking again about these influences and I have found a new pattern: While before English was the only choice, and one that had me in a position of inferiority, now I tend to be the one mastering the language and dominating the conversation.

This takes us back to the question that closed the previous analysis: What happens when someone reaches fluency in the foreign language? Does moral settle like daemons do after childhood in The golden compass? If so, and considering that we seem to have different personalities depending on the languages we speak, do all our daemons (and our personalities) end up merging into the native one once we reach fluency in L2, L3, and so on?

My friend Mercedes was also wondering about doctors who are not native of the language they use at work, asking herself if that fact could impact their decisions regarding the patients. What do you think? Please, share and comment.

Until soon but… Don’t forget to keep being naughty, Knotty surely will!!!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

