Language Show Live 2015

Open

Dear readers and followers,

It is Sunday night already, and the Language Show Live has just closed its doors, but the worst thing is that my beloved MPR went back to Bristol. In order to keep the mood high and not think too much of that, let‘s try and take stock of this edition, which actually corresponds to a milestone in my personal and professional life.

As some of you may know, this event has a deep personal significance for me; for those who don’t, I will say that five years ago, when I first moved to the UK, I actually changed my original plan of coming in November in order to attend to the Language Show. Since then, I only missed one edition, the one in 2012. This years has been my fifth show, but I can easily say that there has not been an edition similar to the other. As a matter of fact, also my approach to the show and my expectancies from it have been totally different from one year to the other.

For those who don’t know about the Language Show, it is one of the main language events in London and also in Europe. Hosted in Olympia since some years now, it has two main components: The exhibitors and the learning section. In my opinion, the exhibitors’ part is extensively focused on language learning and teaching, while the classes and the seminars are evenly shared between the different activities related to languages, including many interesting events dedicated to translation and interpreting.

This year I have had the chance to attend to the whole show and to make the most of the seminars. If you have been following our tweets on #LSLive, you know what I am talking about, but if you haven’t, here is a little sum up of the tweets, a summary that is not a best of and could not be so, because the information was so much and of such a good quality that it would be almost impossible to rank it that way.

Tweets from Language Show Live 2015

I want to take the chance to also thank the speakers for very useful presentations, but also to applaud the audience for three days of interaction that made each talk even more productive. It was  great catching up with friends and meeting new colleagues, save the date for next year:

Fine

Also, don’t forget to keep being naughty, Knotty surely will!!!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

