Afternoon tea – More on the language of tea

Dear readers and followers,

My anniversary post on the tea etiquette needed a visual explanation, and here it is, as a belated Christmas post. First of all, let’s Dame Maggie Smith say what all tea drinkers often think:

 

Muriel: I don’t care about any of that. Listen and learn, son. Tea is a herb that’s been dried out so to bring it back to life, you have to infuse it in boiling water. That is boiling water and everywhere I’ve been in this country, they slap down a cup of tepid nonsense, you know, with the tea bag lying beside it, which means I’ve got to go through the ridiculous business of dunking it in the lukewarm piss waiting for the slightest change of colour to occur. And at my age, I haven’t got the time.
Sonny: This is what I’m talking about.

Now, it may seem trivial to those who don’t drink tea, but it is not. In one of my recent trips, I flew with Alitalia; many things can be said of it, but I thought we could still rely on this company on service. I was being naïve, we cannot. Their idea of a sandwich is poor to say the least, but my biggest mistake was to ask for a cup of tea, because their idea is, exactly as Muriel sais, “lukewarm piss.” More to that, they didn’t even have the decency of giving the bag on a side, they apparently used the one bag for a whole kettle, obtaining a tepid amber water with no flavour of tea at all. So, to those who keep asking the same question every time, no, I don’t want my tea “undrinkably hot like you do it,” I want my tea properly done!

Switching to more interesting matters, just before Christmas I treated myself and my friend, who kindly stars in some pictures, to an afternoon tea to complete what started on our blog anniversary. Once again, this is not strictly related to languages and translation, but it definitely is part of the culture of the country that is currently my home, and it has a language in itself. I will leave you with a little video of the pictures I took and that prove what I described in the previous post.

(Music by Bensound)

As you can see, in the video we use tea strainers, because we have a teapot with the loose leaves inside. Of course, that is the way to do it. If instead you are going for an infuser, as I usually do for my cup of tea, you may want to carefully consider what better suits you. There are countless types, many extremely cute or funny, but do not forget that, in the end, they have the purpose of infusing your tea, therefore they need to allow the leaves to grow. Silicone is modern and colourful, but I personally do not like any crockery made of plastic of any kind, it is greasy to touch. Here you have pictures of three of the main kinds of infusers, and I have all of them, here in London or in Sardinia:

Infusers

Number 3 is my favourite, it has the perfect size for a mug; it is easy to fill, empty, and clean without having to get dirty, and it allows you to also stir the tea and the milk as if it were a teaspoon (yes, I usually leave it in infusion and pour the milk, shame on me!) Number 1 usually has too big holes and too much of the tea end up in the cup, and you also have to have tea pouring through your fingers while you unscrew and empty it, which I find extremely annoying. Number 2 is a good compromise if you like your infuser to disappear in the cup but without having your cup full of leaves and without having to have a tea bath for your fingers afterwards. Now that I went home for the festive season, my best friend received me with this cutie, and I had to try it at least:

IMG_2399

Now, it is almost time to have a tea again, will you join me? Just, don’t forget: Keep being naughty, Knotty surely will!!!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

